Go to content Go to menu


West Bengal Fire Service is the state owned service that attends fire/rescue calls throughout the Indian state of West Bengal, including the city of Kolkata. The fire service consists of 95 fire stations in 11 divisions. There are 7,500 personnel with over 350 fire appliances at their disposal. The Fire Service in West Bengal is the oldest Fire Service in the country. Calcutta Fire Brigade and Bengal Fire Service were amalgamated in 1950 to form the organisation. Fire Service Act was enacted in 1950 and amended in 1996 with inclusion of fire prevention and Fire Safety Rules. 103 fire stations are in operation. About 8000 Fire Force with over 350 fire appliances are in service.