Go to content Go to menu


The Writers' Building, often shortened to just Writers', is the secretariat building of the State Government of West Bengal in India.[1] It is located in West Bengal's capital city of Kolkata. The 150-meter long building covers the entire northern stretch of the iconic Lal Dighi pond in the downtown area of B.B.D. Bagh. It originally served as the principal administrative office for writers (junior clerks) of the British East India Company. Designed by Thomas Lyon in 1777, the Writers' Building has gone through several extensions over the years. Since India's independence in 1947, it housed the office of the Chief Minister of West Bengal until 4 October 2013. The majority of government departments were subsequently moved out to another building named Nabanna in Howrah on a temporary basis for facilitating renovation. The building has been called a mini-township of sorts with a built-up area of around 550,000 square feet. Before the shifting of the state secretariat, the building housed 34 departments and other offices of the state government, with approximately 6,000 employees.[2] As of August, 2019, the renovation of the building continues.